John Cornish

So, I’m starting a blog…

In General, Life on October 26, 2010 at 10:09 am

Blogging is something that I’ve always wanted to do, but just never got around to it. I think for a while I did have one of those Xanga blogs (do those even still exist?), but mostly ended up writing about what I had for dinner or other equally interesting issues. Hopefully I can be more interesting than that here.

Those of you that know me know that my life is pretty crazy. Not like a little (like your neighbor next door with the pink flamingos in her lawn) crazy, but certifiably (think white padded room) crazy. Don’t get me wrong: I love my life. It’s just that sometimes in trying to keep up with being a full-time doctoral student, adjunct professor, worship and communications minister, husband, and daddy, that life seems a little out of hand sometimes. So…I’ve decided to add one more thing to the mix and try to keep up a blog. Yeah, I’m nuts.

Actually, I’m doing this for a couple of reasons. First and foremost, I’m doing this for me. Don’t get me wrong…I hope others will read this (maybe at 3:30 in the afternoon at work when they’re bored and the boss isn’t looking). But sometimes in the academic world and in ministry I feel like I’m bombarded with so many issues, problems, and random thoughts that I never have a chance to work through any of them. So, I’m hoping to do that here. Hopefully somebody out there will find something interesting…or at least oddly amusing.

The other reason I’m doing this is that I honestly do want to write about things that will be helpful to others. That’s why I chose the blog title that I did. I’m a conductor, and one of the great things about being a conductor is that you get to give leadership and direction to others. My job is to take a bunch of random dots on a page and bring them to life for others. I want this blog to be kinda like that. In sharing my thoughts about issues, perhaps I can somehow bring clarity to others, or at least an interesting perspective. Obviously, I live life in a variety of theaters (academia, music, ministry, and home), so not everything will interest everyone. That’s okay. Like I said, I’m mostly doing this for me. Hopefully, something I write at some point will help someone.

  1. Pink Flamingos!!!! I love you. 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

